Odessa archaeological Museum is one of the oldest in Ukraine. It is located in a magnificent building built in the country style in the middle of the XIX century, in the heart of Odessa. Thanks to the incredibly rich collection of unique antiquities archaeological Museum is a real treasure, a priceless cultural heritage, and is among the top ten most visited sights of South Palmyra.
It began its history in 1825 as the city Museum of antiquities. The core of its collection became a private collection of ancient books and archaeological objects, which the city passed local philanthropist Ivan Blaramberh, who actively participated in the creation of the Museum. Further development required archaeological Museum of the Odessa society of history and antiquities, through which its funds have been considerably increased original artifacts of the past.
The Museum’s collection, numbering about 170 thousand exhibits, is set in ten themed rooms, located on two floors. It consists of valuable monuments of history and culture of the Northern black sea, ancient Greece and Ancient Rome, as well as antiquities from Cyprus and Egypt. The exposition is built in chronological order from the stone age to the middle Ages and introduces the culture and life of different Nations. Continue reading
The first time the human settlements in Kostyonki are 45 thousand years ago, the last end its existence about 30 thousand years later. During this time, humanity was able to go to a Grand from a small group the first Europeans who only started to master a new continent, to highly developed societies “mammoth hunters”. Finds of that era showed that people not only managed to survive in the extreme conditions of a periglacial zone, and created expressive culture: they could build a complex of residential constructions, to do a variety of stone tools and create amazing artistic images. Thanks to these findings largely created our current understanding of the stone age. Kostenki is a reference monument of the upper Paleolithic, to preserve, study and promote the aims of the Museum-reserve.
March 2 at the Palace of culture “Shinnik” on the street of Rostov opened postponed due to quarantine activities exhibition dedicated to the Day of defender of the Fatherland. The exhibition presents works of students of schools of the city and region, collected by our Museum last year during the jubilee events dedicated to the 70th anniversary of … Continue reading
The historical Museum is the oldest in the system of the Smolensk Museum-preserve: in 1888, Smolensk ethnographer S. D. Pisarev in the building of the city Duma was opened the historical-archaeological Museum. Since then the collection has greatly expanded, the Museum changed its name and address, but still introduces visitors to the rich history of the region. The Museum is a lot of work on the creation of a permanent exhibition, open sections “Ancient history of the Smolensk land” (100kt. years ago – early IX century ad) and “Smolensk in the old Russian state in IX – early XIII centuries”. More than 1,500 objects of archeological Fund of the Museum includes the exposition “Ancient history of the Smolensk land (100kt. years ago – early IX century ad)” osvidetelstvovanie of the Smolensk region from the stone age to the early middle ages. Among the exhibits: flint hunting tools of ancient people, stone axes, fragments of pottery, bronze ornaments and objects of worship, as well as models, maps, reconstructions.
The highlight of the show is a real preserved skeleton of a mammoth. In the 2nd hall of the permanent exposition visitors can see the legendary monuments of the Gnezdovo archaeological complex (IX-X CC.): not having analogues in Continue reading