Smolensk state Museum-reserve
The historical Museum is the oldest in the system of the Smolensk Museum-preserve: in 1888, Smolensk ethnographer S. D. Pisarev in the building of the city Duma was opened the historical-archaeological Museum. Since then the collection has greatly expanded, the Museum changed its name and address, but still introduces visitors to the rich history of the region. The Museum is a lot of work on the creation of a permanent exhibition, open sections “Ancient history of the Smolensk land” (100kt. years ago – early IX century ad) and “Smolensk in the old Russian state in IX – early XIII centuries”. More than 1,500 objects of archeological Fund of the Museum includes the exposition “Ancient history of the Smolensk land (100kt. years ago – early IX century ad)” osvidetelstvovanie of the Smolensk region from the stone age to the early middle ages. Among the exhibits: flint hunting tools of ancient people, stone axes, fragments of pottery, bronze ornaments and objects of worship, as well as models, maps, reconstructions.
The highlight of the show is a real preserved skeleton of a mammoth. In the 2nd hall of the permanent exposition visitors can see the legendary monuments of the Gnezdovo archaeological complex (IX-X CC.): not having analogues in the world korchaha-amphora with the oldest Russian inscription, the famous Frankish steel swords (weapons of the Vikings-Varangians), rare gold coins – solidi of the Byzantine emperors Alexander and Theophilus, silver Arabic coins-dirhams, bronze and brass ornaments, brooches and buckles. In the exhibition one can see reconstructed by anthropologists of the faces of the inhabitants of Gnezdovo settlement and their authentic costumes.
The exhibition presents the unique archaeological monuments of ancient Smolensk (XI-XIII centuries): a print of one of the first Smolensk princes of Vyacheslav Yaroslavich, the stone tomb of Prince Davyd Rostislavich, famous Smolensk birch-bark manuscripts, weapons of Russian knights, majestic frescoes from Smolensk temples, silver hryvnia-jewelry and bullion, Western European coins-denarius, tools and products of the blacksmith, the Potter, the Tanner, the carpenter, the Carver, jeweler. You can get acquainted with objects of everyday life of ancient Smolyan, see the fragment of a house 800 years ago, three-dimensional models of ancient temples in Smolensk.
The exhibition is accompanied by a wealth of reference material: maps, drawings, reconstructions, diagrams, plans, explanatory text, facsimile reproduction of ancient Chronicles and miniatures. In 2014 opened a new section of the permanent exhibition of the Historical Museum “the History and culture of the Smolensk region in the XIII-XVIII centuries. Spectacular large-scale exhibition, full of unique items and relics, reflects the highlights of the Smolensk history: Mongol-Tatar invasion of the thirteenth century, relations with the Grand Duchy of Lithuania in the XIII-XV centuries, the gathering of the Russian lands and the return of Smolensk to the Russian state in 1514 the construction of the Smolensk fortress wall in 1596-1602, heroic defense of Smolensk from Polish invaders in 1609-1611, the final liberation of the Smolensk land in 1654, the reforms of Peter I in the early XVIII century part of the Smolensk region in the great Northern war of 1700-1721 education and development of the Smolensk province. In the halls of the new exhibition hosted more than two thousand Museum pieces, clearly presented more than 500-year-old original, the heroic history of his native land, and a considerable part of them exhibited for the first time.